Screencastify incident
Google Authorization Error Preventing Access
Screencastify is currently experiencing a major incident affecting Watch Page and Downloads and exports, which began 2d ago. The vendor's full update timeline is below.
Affected components
Update timeline
- identified Sep 14, 2026, 06:46 PM UTC
We have identified an issue where some users may receive an “Authorization blocked: Authorization error” message when attempting to access Screencastify or grant Google Drive permissions. Our Engineering team has identified the cause and is working toward a permanent resolution. Workaround: Affected users can restore access by removing Screencastify from their Google Account connections and then reconnecting their account: Visit your Google Account and navigate to Security → Your connections to third-party apps & services. Select Screencastify and choose Delete all connections or Remove Access. Return to Screencastify and select Sign in with Google. Select your Google account and accept the prompts to restore access. We’ll provide additional updates here as our Engineering team works toward a permanent resolution.
- monitoring Sep 16, 2026, 03:52 PM UTC
Our Engineering team has deployed a permanent fix for the Google authorization issue and we are monitoring the results. As part of the resolution, affected users may need to refresh their Google Drive permissions. If prompted to reconnect or reauthorize Screencastify, please sign in with Google and accept the requested permissions. If you continue to receive an "Authorization blocked: Authorization error” message, remove Screencastify from your Google Account connections and reconnect: 1. Navigate to Google Account → Security → Your connections to third-party apps & services. 2. Select Screencastify and choose Delete all connections or Remove Access. 3. Return to Screencastify and select Sign in with Google. 4. Select your Google account and accept the prompts to restore access. Videos stored in Google Drive may also be temporarily unavailable for playback until the video owner has signed back in and restored their Drive permissions. We’ll continue monitoring for any remaining impact.